.
Reviews and recommendations from the curator of an extensive audiobook athenaeum.
.

Featured Slider

Review: All That Remains: A Life in Death

Review: All That Remains: A Life in Death
All That Remains: A Life in Death by Sue Black.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 11 hrs 20 mins.

All that Remains: A Life in Death by Sue Black is an introduction to forensic anthropology like no other. In this memoir Professor Black lays out her own journey to becoming one of the most respected forensic anthropologists and anatomists in the country, and talks us through what it really means to live with death; as an academic, an investigator, and as a human being.

Review: Drake Restrained

Review: Drake Restrained

Drake Restrained, Book 1 by S.E. Lund.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 15 hrs.
🔥Steamy Content!🔥

Drake Restrained, Book 1 by S. E. Lund is a dark, passionate story, perfect for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey. This audiobook is a retelling of  the author's previous novel, The Agreement, fro…
Competition: Win an Audible £3k Listening Bundle!

Competition: Win an Audible £3k Listening Bundle!

Audible's Ultimate Listening Bundle competition is back again and better than ever! 
Open to UK members only, two lucky winners will grab an iPhone 11 Pro 5.8-inch display in space grey (256GB); an iPad Pro with 12.9-inch display in Space Grey (512GB, Wi-Fi + Cellular); a pair of Bose QuietComf…
Review: The Clockwork Magician

Review: The Clockwork Magician

The Clockwork Magician by Eldritch Black.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 8 hrs 38 mins.

The Clockwork Magician by Eldritch Black is a Young Adult steampunk adventure following a madcap professor, his irascible assistant, and a bespectacled cat.
Audible Summary: "A street urchin with a my…
Review: Submission

Review: Submission

Submission, Doms of Club Eden Book 01, by L.K. Shaw.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 4 hrs 42 mins.
🔥Steamy content!🔥

Submission by LK Shaw is a short and steamy contemporary romantic thriller, which grabs the listener by the unmentionables. 
Audible Summary: "The moment I laid eyes on …
Review: Delighted by the Duke

Review: Delighted by the Duke

Delighted by the Duke by Amanda Mariel.
My rating: 2 of 5 stars ⭐⭐
Duration: 1 hr 39 mins.

Delighted by the Duke, Fabled Love Book 4 by Amanda Mariel is a very short but ever-so sweet romance inspired by the Regency era. It is not fate which throws Emma Baxter into the path of a widowed Duke, but Em…
Series Review: Rotherweird Trilogy, Books 1-3

Series Review: Rotherweird Trilogy, Books 1-3

Now that the trilogy is complete in print and audio, here is my review for all three books in this extraordinary fantasy series: Rotherweird, Wyntertide, and Lost Acre. I have attempted to avoid spoilers in my reviews but if you are yet to listen to the series then you may wish to skip the synopsi…
Review: The Tell Tale Heart and Other Creepy Classics

Review: The Tell Tale Heart and Other Creepy Classics

The Tell Tale Heart and Other Creepy Classics by Edgar Allan Poe.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐.
Duration: 5 hrs 32 mins.

The Tell-Tale Heart and Other Creepy Classics featuring stories by Edgar Allan Poe, Washington Irving, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Guy de Maupassant, H.G Wells, and Jack London.
Aud…
Review: The Wizard and The Frog

Review: The Wizard and The Frog

The Wizard and The Frog by Richard Fierce.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 2 hrs 17 mins.

The Wizard and the Frog by Richard Fierce is a short fantasy adventure following a rather hapless hero and an equally inept elf as they pursue their quest to return the heroine to human form. The biggest …
Review: Bless Thine Inheritance

Review: Bless Thine Inheritance

Bless Thine Inheritance by Sophia Holloway.
My rating: 5 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 9 hrs 46 mins.
Publisher: Soundings for Isis Audiobooks.
Bless Thine Inheritance by Sophia Holloway is a traditional Regency romance whose unlikely heroine is anything but the usual society belle. When a family bequest…
Giveaway: The Freedman - Black History Month special

Giveaway: The Freedman - Black History Month special

To mark Black History Month, which runs throughout October in the UK, author Lars D.H. Hedbor is giving away 10 copies of The Freedman; a fascinating audiobook in his excellent Tales From a Revolution series.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book earlier in the year and urge anyone with an interest in th…
Freebie and Review: The Sisters

Freebie and Review: The Sisters

The Sisters by Dervla McTiernan.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 3 hrs 8 mins.

Special offer: this audiobook is free until 10am, 3rd October 2019, for Audible UK members with an active subscription.
The Sisters, Cormac Reilly Series, Book 0.5 by Dervla McTiernan is a prequel novella to the acc…
Review: A Nefarious Engagement: A Regency Cozy

Review: A Nefarious Engagement: A Regency Cozy

A Nefarious Engagement: A Regency Cozy by Lynn Messina.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 7 hrs 56 mins.

A Nefarious Engagement: A Regency Cozy, Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries, Book 4 by Lynn Messina is the fourth book in a charming series which follows a determined bluestocking and her fastidio…
Review: Their Lost Daughters

Review: Their Lost Daughters

Their Lost Daughters by Joy Ellis.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars. ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 9 hrs 46 mins.

Their Lost Daughters, Jackman and Evans Book 1 (Recommended Reading Order) by Joy Ellis is a haunting crime thriller set in the wild Lincolnshire fens, and following investigative duo DI Rowan Jackman and DS Ma…
Review: Portrait of a Lady

Review: Portrait of a Lady

Portrait of a Lady by Victoria Vale.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 8 hrs 38 mins.
🔥Steamy scenes!🔥

Portrait of a Lady, The Gentleman Courtesans, Book 1 by Victoria Vale is a character-driven romp through Regency London, beginning and ending with delightfully indecent proposals. It sets up…
Review: Rewriting the Rules

Review: Rewriting the Rules

Rewriting the Rules by Morganna Williams.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 3 hrs 14 mins.
🔥Steamy content! 🔥

Rewriting the Rules by Morganna Williams is an erotic novella about a reclusive, submissive, writer who is taken to task by her Dominant editor.
Audible summary: "Ever since her …
Review: ROSALIND: A Regency Romance

Review: ROSALIND: A Regency Romance

ROSALIND: A Regency Romance by Jenny Hambly.
My rating: 3 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 6 hrs 43 mins.

Rosalind: A Regency Romance, Bachelor Brides, Book 1 by Jenny Hambly is an entertaining Regency romance with plenty of intrigue and mystery to keep it going.
Audible Summary: He is determined to avoid …