Throwback Thursday Review: Lies Sleeping

Lies Sleeping audiobook cover. A map of London on a cream background with blood spilling into the river and surrounding borough. Lies Sleeping by Ben Aaronovitch.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Duration: 10 hrs 25 mins.

I really enjoyed immersing myself in Ben Aaronovitch's Rivers of London (Peter Grant) series for another outing. Lies Sleeping, the seventh book in the series, featured Nightingale less than in previous books, and there were fewer humorous moments, but was still as entertaining and surprising as ever. At each twist and turn, as in previous books, I really felt as if I was traipsing all over London with Peter Grant, traversing the city - past and present - pursuing truth, justice, and Molly's cheese puffs.

This book brings many of the previous threads together, once more playing out the age-old theme of 'good vs evil' but with Aaronovitch's candid understanding that people are seldom wholly one or the other. As always with this series I most enjoy following the investigations from Peter's often rather hapless perspective, often sharing his surprise at the schemes he manages to pull off. Ultimately his faith in people is his greatest strength and most reckless weakness, but his sincerity throughout mans that I always follow his adventures as a dedicated supporter of Team Folly. They are rather a rag-tag bunch, with battle-hardened police detectives and notorious thieves playing no more or less a part in the investigation than river deities, large talking foxes, and precocious teenage cousins. Yet everyone feels as though they have earned their place, and contributes to keeping the peace in the tumultuous City of London.

Wonderfully narrated, as ever, by the excellent Kobna Holdbrook Smith, this series is one of my favourite from recent years and I would recommend the audiobook to anyone who is a fan of crime drama or fantasy. If you're new to audiobooks then Kobna's engaging and immersive performance as Peter Grant is a great place to begin your adventure.

The next book in the series - a novella titled October Man - can be pre-ordered now ahead of its release later this year, and will explore The Folly's continental counterparts. 

View book on
(To buy this book, listen to a sample, or add it to your wishlist!)

No comments